Arnold Cassola

Born in Sliema, Malta on 21/11/1953. Graduated at the Universities of Malta (B.A., 1974), Pisa (M.A., 1977), Urbino (Ph.d, 1981) in Literature.

   Cassola is the author/editor of around forty books on the history, literature, language and culture of Malta, Malta-Italy relationship, as well as of books on Maltese migration in the Mediterranean in the 19th century and on Green politics in Malta and Europe. He is the author of scores of academic papers in various countries and has contributed hundreds of articles to newspapers in various parts of the world.

1988 -
Maltese and Comparative Literature

Cassola has been a Full Professor in Maltese and Comparative Literature at the University of Malta since 1988.

Switzerland, Catania and Roma

Taught at Institut Montana, Zugerberg Switzerland and the Universities of Catania (1981-83) and Roma "La Sapienza" (1983-88).

Alternattiva Demokratika – The Green Party of Malta.

Cassola was a co-founder in 1989 of Alternattiva Demokratika – The Green Party of Malta

Secretary General of the European Green Party in Brussels

Elected Secretary General of the European Green Party in Brussels. (Also re-elected in 2003)

Cavaliere della Repubblica Italiana

Honoured with the title of Cavaliere della Repubblica Italiana by the Italian President of the Republic Carlo Azeglio Ciampi for cultural merits, in particular those concerning relations between Italy and Malta.

Italian Chamber of Deputies

Elected as a Green Member of the Italian Chamber of Deputies in Montecitorio, and served there till 2008.

Book of the Year award

Awarded the National Book Council Book of the Year award.

Ġieħ is-Swieqi

Awarded Ġieħ is-Swieqi, by the Swieqi Local Council.

He gave lectures in various universities, amongst which: 1. Università di Bologna (1989; 1993); 2. Università di Macerata (1995); 3.Università di Roma “La Sapienza” (1990); 4. Drew University, Vesalius College, USA, Brussels Campus (2000); 5. Brandeis University, Boston, USA (2001); 6. Universite Libre de Bruxelles (2000; 2001); 7. University of Manchester, Dept of Politics (2001); 8. University of Newcastle (2003); 9. University of Bielefeld, Dept. European Policy (2004), 10. University of Haifa (2012), 11. University of Catania (2016), 12. University of Foreign Studies, Busan, South Korea (2016), 13. National and Capodistrian University of Athens, Faculty of Philology, Greece (2017), 14. University of Gaziantepe, Gaziantepe, Turkey (2017), 15. Universite’ de Sousse, Tunisia (2018), 16. Piri Reis Universitesi, Istanbul, Turkey (2021)